4 - States Cystic Fibrosis Coonhunters


The 4 States Cystic Fibrosis Coon Hunters Association was formed in 1984 by Dexter Whatley and a group of family and friends in their search to help his daughter Lora, who was diagnosed with Cystic Fibrosis. Through the years, time, hard work and perseverance, these volunteers have raised many thousands of dollars for the search of a cure. Many drugs and therapies have been developed and the patients can now live an almost normal life utilizing these new developments.

At this point in time we, as an organization feel it is time to change our direction in the use of the monies we raise. In April 2019, we severed our ties with the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation and we will, beginning in the year 2020, start issuing grants to the patients, not to exceed $2,500 per patient per year. We will have an application for the grants, which the Board of directors will examine and make decisions on the disbursements of the grants.

This being presented to and voted on by the Board of Directors, Officers and Members of the 4 States Cystic Fibrosis Coon Hunters Association on the 17th of December, 2019.

Board of Directors And Officers

The board of directors shall be the body which oversees the organization and guides the officers. It shall be comprised of five members with one director functioning as the chairman. 

The board shall be comprised of the officers and five other persons all of whom shall be members in good standing and all of whom shall be elected for one year terms at the clubs annual meeting and shall serve until their successors are elected. General management of the club’s affairs shall be entrusted to the board of directors.

The club’s officers, consisting of the President, Vice President, Secretary and Treasurer, shall serve in their respective capacities both with regard to the club and it’s meetings and the board and it’s meetings.

These are the directors and officers for the year 2020

Board of Directors: 

Chairman of the Board: Dexter Whatley

Johnny Duncan

Mark Milanovich

Stan Gunn

Warren Pennington

Marty Whatley ~ Steve Gunn ~ Ray Tate- Posthumously


President:Niki Haley

Secretary: Jo Anna Duncan

Vice President: James Burbridge

Treasurer: Patsy Whatley 

Financial Assistant: Brittany Burbridge

Meetings and Voting

The annual meeting of the club shall be held in the month of March/April at a place, date and hour designated by the board of directors. The quorum of the meeting shall be 20% of the members in good standing. 

At the annual meeting the officers and directors for the ensuing year shall be elected. They shall take office immediately upon the conclusion of the meeting and each retiring officer shall turn over to the successor in office all properties and records relating to that office within 30 days after the election.

The nominated candidate receiving the greatest number of votes for each office shall be declared elected. The five nominated candidates for other positions on the board who receive the greatest number of votes for such positions shall be declared elected.

The business of the meetings shall be carried out by the officers and events shall be a joint effort of the board of directors and the club officers.

Each member in good standing shall be entitled to one vote at any meeting at which he is present. In the event of a director or an officer’s absence at a meeting, a proxy may be used. 

Oops! This site has expired.

If you are the site owner, please renew your premium subscription or contact support.